I find Audio/Visual Services in public libraries fascinating.  A few posts back, I was talking about different ways libraries could use You Tube to its advantage.  An idea crossed my mind, but knowing my own experience, I quickly dismissed it.  The idea was possibly using You Tube to search for a film using keywords, much like many readers advisory services out there.  Searching on You Tube, however, is difficult, unwieldy, and many times, completely futile.

Enter Anyclip.

Anyclip is a new service that was introduced at the TechCrunch50 conference a few weeks ago.  Basically, these developers have created a movie clip search engine, which will allow users to “find any moment from any film, instantly.”  Imagine the possibilities.  A library patron approaches the desk and is trying to find a movie.  She can’t remember the title, but she thinks she remembers an actor’s name and can describe a scene.  I get these kinds of questions from friends all the time:  “You know that movie?  A surfer kid has a pizza delivered to class, and the guy from My Favorite Martian is the teacher.  What is that movie?”  If you didn’t know off hand, you could simply enter a few of these keywords into Anyclip, and voila–Fast Times at Ridgemont High.

Right now, the site seems to be targeting movie lovers, studios, and the online film community, but this is a service that could really prove its value for libraries.  The site is in testing right now, and I am currently in the queue to try it out.  I for one, can’t wait.  Read more over at Slashfilm here, and watch their demo here.

